5 longest fish species in the world

1. Blue Whale

Blue whale is the largest animal on the planet. According to a recent study, they are also identified as having the longest body among the whale species in the ocean. The longest blue whale grows to 33 m and weighs nearly 200 tons.

The blue whale’s body is long and slim and can be bluish-gray on the back and light in color There are at least 3 subspecies of blue whales, distributed throughout the world. Like other whales, their food is mainly plankton and small crustaceans.

2. Sperm whale

The sperm whale is the largest fish in the toothed whale suborder. They are one of three extant species of the fish family sperm whale along with the small sperm whale (Kogia breviceps) and the dwarf sperm whale (Kogia sima).

An adult male sperm whale can be up to 24m long. They are the largest toothed animals in the world. For males, the head can be as long as 1/3 of the total body length – when it comes to the head, the sperm whale is the animal with the largest brain in the world.

Sperm whales mainly eats squid – even giant squids and giant Antarctic squids are its victims – but they also occasionally eat fish and can dive up to 3000m, making it a mammal The world’s deepest dive.

3. Whale sharks

Whale sharks (whale sharks) are sharks that eat plankton. The known record length of this species is 18 8 m.

They are a special member of the subclass Elasmobranchii (ray sharks) of the class Chondrichthyes. It is the largest shark and also one of the largest living fish species.

Whale sharks live in tropical oceans and warm temperate parts of the world. Considered to live in the ocean, they also gather seasonally in some coastal areas such as Ningaloo Reef in western Australia as well as Pemba and Zanzibar in the oceanic coastal areas of East Africa.< /p>

4. Oarfish

The giant oarfish (also known as the oarfish, scientific name Regalecus glesne) was first mentioned in 1772 but is rarely seen because They live in the depths of the ocean – at a depth of 1,000m.

The giant Oarfish is the oldest known living species of bony fish with a length of up to 17m and can weighs up to 270kg.
The hanging female has a ribbon-like appearance with a rather thin horizontal body and a dorsal fin running along the entire length of the body. Because of its huge length and special red fins, many people call this fish a giant sea snake or sea dragon.

They have no fins but wear a silver coat containing the chemical guanine. – a substance found in abundance in the fins of some fish species.

5. Basking shark

The basking shark (scientific name Cetorhinus maximus) is one of the shark species that eats plankton in the ocean. They have a body length of nearly 12.5 m.

The basking shark is the second largest fish in existence after the whale shark and the second of the three shark species that feeds on plankton and fish. whale sharks and megamouth sharks.

Basking sharks are usually gray-brown in color with spotted skin. The teeth of basking sharks are very small and numerous, often over a hundred rows. The teeth have a single conical tip that is curved backwards and are the same in both the upper and lower jaw.